Home:   >Mississippi Writer Timeline


[Books] Publications:
  • Nixon: The Education of a Politician, 1913-1962, by Stephen E. Ambrose (Simon & Schuster).
  • Home for Christmas: A Story of the South, by Howard Bahr (St. Luke's Press).
  • Chroma, short stories by Frederick Barthelme (Simon & Schuster).
  • And He Tells the Little Horse the Whole Story, short stories by Steve Barthelme (Johns Hopkins UP).
  • Wild to the Heart, nonfiction by Rick Bass (Norton).
  • Life Everlaughter: The Heart and Humor of Jerry Clower, by Jerry Clower (Rutledge Hill Press).
  • The Magic Carpet, by Ellen Douglas (University Press of Mississippi).
  • Country Lawyer and Other Stories for the Screen, by William Faulkner; edited by Louis Daniel Brodsky and Robert W. Hamblin (University Press of Mississippi).
  • Autumn in Petrishchevo, by Jay Higginbotham (Progress).
  • A Piece of My Heart, a novel by Richard Ford (Collins Harvel).
  • Rock Springs, stories by Richard Ford (Atlantic Monthly Press).
  • Even Monkeys Fall from Trees, & Other Proverbs, compiled and translated by David Galef (C.E. Tuttle Co.).
  • Falling Through Space: The Journals of Ellen Gilchrist, by Ellen Gilchrist (Little, Brown).
  • Hey Jack!, a novel by Barry Hannah (E.P. Dutton/Seymour Lawrence).
  • The Lucky Spot, a play by Beth Henley (Dramatists Play Service).
  • The Thanatos Syndrome, a novel by Walker Percy (Farrar, Straus).
  • Contemporary New England Poetry, volume 1, edited by Paul Ruffin, George P. Garrett, and X.J. Kennedy (Texas Review Press).
  • The Storm Cellar, poems by Paul Ruffin.
  • The Gold Cadillac, by Mildred D. Taylor (Dial).
  • The Friendship, by Mildred D. Taylor (Dial).
  • Let the Band Play Dixie, by Lawrence Wells (Doubleday).
  • Jacob's Ladder, a novel by John Alfred Williams (Thunder's Mouth).

[Stage Play] Beth Henley's play The Lucky Spot produced on Broadway in New York at City Centre Theatre.

[Award] Lewis Nordan receives the Porter Fund Prize.

[Film] Television broadcast premiere of The Glass Menagerie, based on the play by Tennessee Williams.

[Award] Steve Barthelme receives a PEN Syndicated Fiction Project award.

[Award] Richard Ford receives a PEN/Faulkner citation for fiction for The Sportswriter and a literature award from the Mississippi Academy of Arts and Letters.

[Award] Eudora Welty receives a National Medal of Arts.
Previous Year 1986 1988 Next Year

Mississippi Writers Page Links
About This Site |
New Book Info | News & Events | Literary Landmarks | Mississippi Literary History | Mississippi Publishing | Other Features | Other Web Resources

by author | by title | by place | by year | by genre


Ole Miss Links
UM Home Page | English Department | Center for the Study of Southern Culture | The University of Mississippi Foundation

This page has been accessed 1004 times. About this page counter.

Last Revised on Monday, November 9, 2015, at 04:37:42 PM CST .
Send comments to mwp@olemiss.edu

Web Design by John B. Padgett.
Copyright © 2015 The University of Mississippi English Department.