Home:   >Mississippi Writer Timeline


[Books] Publications:
  • Eisenhower: The President, by Stephen E. Ambrose (Simon & Schuster).
  • Pegasus Bridge: 6 June, 1944, by Stephen E. Ambrose (Allen & Unwin).
  • Bittersweet, a novel by Nevada Barr (St. Martin's).
  • Second Marriage, a novel by Frederick Barthelme (Simon & Schuster).
  • The Golden Savage, a romance novel by Anne Carsley (Pinnacle Books).
  • Wine with Food: A Guide to Entertaining through the Seasons, by Barbara Ensrud (Congdon & Weed).
  • Faulkner: A Comprehensive Guide to the Brodsky Collection, Volume II: The Letters, and Volume III, The De Gaulle Story, by William Faulkner, edited by Robert W. Hamblin and Louis Daniel Brodsky (University Press of Mississippi).
  • Faulkner and Hollywood: A Retrospective from the Brodsky Collection, by Robert W. Hamblin and Louis Daniel Brodsky (Southeast Missouri State University).
  • Vision in Springs, poems by William Faulkner, edited by Judith Sensibar (University of Texas Press).
  • Victory Over Japan: A Book of Stories, by Ellen Gilchrist (Little, Brown).
  • Music Lesson: Stories, by Martha Lacy Hall (University of Illinois Press).
  • A Secret Rage, by Charlaine Harris (Houghton).
  • A Land Remembered, by Patrick D. Smith (Penguin).
  • One Writer's Beginnings, by Eudora Welty (Harvard University Press).
  • The Remarkable Rooming-House of Mme. LeMonde, a play by Tennessee Williams (Albondocani Press).
  • Stopped Rocking and Other Screenplays, by Tennessee Williams (New Directions).
  • Dear Family, by Zig Ziglar.
  • See You at the Top, by Zig Ziglar.

[Film] Television broadcast premiere of A Streetcar Named Desire, based on the play by Tennessee Williams.

[Award] Steve Barthelme receives the Transatlantic Review Award for Fiction.

[Award] Eudora Welty receives an American Book Award for One Writer's Beginnings and a Common Wealth Award for Distinguished Service in Literature from the Modern Language Association of America; she is also nominated for National Book Critics Circle Award and Los Angeles Times Book Prize nominations for One Writer's Beginnings.
Previous Year 1983 1985 Next Year

Mississippi Writers Page Links
About This Site |
New Book Info | News & Events | Literary Landmarks | Mississippi Literary History | Mississippi Publishing | Other Features | Other Web Resources

by author | by title | by place | by year | by genre


Ole Miss Links
UM Home Page | English Department | Center for the Study of Southern Culture | The University of Mississippi Foundation

This page has been accessed 977 times. About this page counter.

Last Revised on Monday, November 9, 2015, at 04:37:41 PM CST .
Send comments to mwp@olemiss.edu

Web Design by John B. Padgett.
Copyright © 2015 The University of Mississippi English Department.