* Newsletter Archives
* Recent Headlines
* News Archives
* Online News Sources
Home:  >News & Events   >News Archives   >2003

University of Mississippi Journalism seeks names for 2002-03 ‘Silver Em’ Award

June 27, 2003

By Patsy R. Brumfield
University of Mississippi News Services

OXFORD, Miss. — Nominations are being accepted for the University of Mississippi Department of Journalism’s annual Silver Em award honoring an outstanding journalist with a Mississippi connection.

The most prestigious journalism award the university bestows, the Silver Em originated in 1958.

The recipient can be a print or broadcast journalist, living or deceased, whose career exemplifies the highest ideals of American journalism. Recipients include Pulitzer Prize winners and other distinguished journalists.

The award is open to a native Mississippian or anyone who has spent a significant part of his or her career in the state. Nominees do not have to be University of Mississippi alumni.

Nominations are solicited from previous Silver Em recipients, UM journalism alumni, members of the Mississippi news media, the National Association of Black Journalists, and the general public. Deadline for nominations is Aug. 15.

At a minimum, nomination letters should include a summary of the nominee’s news career and a description of his or her connection to the state, along with information on how to contact the person. Past nominees are not automatically reconsidered, but a new letter of nomination constitutes submission for the 2002-03 award.

Selection of the Silver Em recipient is by a committee drawn from the UM journalism faculty, former Silver Em recipients and representatives of the Mississippi Press Association and Mississippi Association of Broadcasters. An awards banquet is set for Nov. 6 in Oxford.

The 2002-03 Silver Em recipient is Pulitzer Prize winner Ira B. Harkey, who was vilified for his editorials urging the peaceful integration of the University of Mississippi in 1962 by James Meredith, a black man from Jackson. Others include the late Willie Morris; former presidential press secretary Larry Speakes; nationally syndicated columnists William Raspberry and Rheta Grimsley Johnson; former New York Times editor Turner Catledge; former Lexington Enterprise publisher Hazel Brannon Smith; Hodding Carter III, CEO of the Knight Foundation; and Charles Overby, chairman and CEO of the Freedom Forum. In 2001, long-time Jackson television reporter and anchor Bert Case became the first broadcast journalist to win the award.

For more information, contact Stuart Bullion in the Ole Miss Department of Journalism at 662-915-7146 or via e-mail at Mail nominations to Silver Em, Department of Journalism, P.O. Box 1848, University, MS 38677-1848, or fax them to 662-915-7765.

Mississippi Writers Page Links
About This Site |
New Book Info | News & Events | Literary Landmarks | Mississippi Literary History | Mississippi Publishing | Other Features | Other Web Resources

by author | by title | by place | by year | by genre


Ole Miss Links
UM Home Page | English Department | Center for the Study of Southern Culture | The University of Mississippi Foundation


This page has been accessed 974 times. About this page counter.

Last Revised on Monday, November 9, 2015, at 04:35:48 PM CST .
Send comments to

Web Design by John B. Padgett.
Copyright © 2015 The University of Mississippi English Department.