* Newsletter Archives
* Recent Headlines
* News Archives
* Online News Sources
Home:  >News & Events   >News Archives   >2002
New Grisham film finally sees a camera

July 29, 2002

Editor’s note: This article originally appeared in the June 19, 2002, edition of The Guardian newspaper, (

The Runaway Jury, the long-delayed adaptation of John Grisham’s novel, is finally moving into production.

The film, which concerns a ground-breaking lawsuit against a gun manufacturer, will star Gene Hackman and Dustin Hoffman as the lawyers for defence and prosecution, respectively. John Cusack will play the jury foreman, and Rachel Weisz has just signed up to play his girlfriend, who plays a major part in the unfolding story. Gary Fleder (Don’t Say a Word) will direct.

This line-up is the last of several for a project that was first mooted in 1996 and has been through several troublesome stages. The first teamsheet had Joel Schumacher directing Edward Norton, Gwyneth Paltrow and Sean Connery. But after a row between Connery and Schumacher, that incarnation of the project was scrapped.

After getting — and losing — directors Alfonso Cuaron and Philip Kaufman, last year saw Mike Newell set to direct with Will Smith starring. John Grisham vetoed that plan, but it seems that the current cast and director meet with his approval. Barring any hiccups, shooting is set to begin on September 16. —Copyright © Guardian Newspapers Limited.

Mississippi Writers Page Links
About This Site |
New Book Info | News & Events | Literary Landmarks | Mississippi Literary History | Mississippi Publishing | Other Features | Other Web Resources

by author | by title | by place | by year | by genre


Ole Miss Links
UM Home Page | English Department | Center for the Study of Southern Culture | The University of Mississippi Foundation

This page has been accessed 1001 times. About this page counter.

Last Revised on Monday, November 9, 2015, at 04:35:42 PM CST.
Send comments to

Web Design by John B. Padgett.
Copyright © 2015 The University of Mississippi English Department.