Go to
* Publications
* Bibliography
* Internet Resources

See also:
* Book Info:

Last Scene Alive

Living Dead in Dallas
(April 2002)
Dead Until Dark
(April 2002)
Shakespeare’s Counselor
(August 2000)
Shakespeare’s Trollop
(August 2000)
Shakespeare’s Christmas
(November 1999)
Shakespeare’s Christmas
(November 1998)
Shakespeare’s Champion
(October 1998)
Dead Over Heels
(January 1998)
Shakespeare’s Champion
(December 1997)
Dead Over Heels
(November 1996)

The Julius House
(October 1996)

Shakespeare’s Landlord
(July 1996)

Home:  >Browse Listings   >Authors   >Harris, Charlaine

Charlaine Harris

Mystery writer Charlaine Harris was born November 25, 1951, in Tunica, Mississippi. She received a B.A. from Southwestern at Memphis in 1973, and she worked at newspapers in Clarkesdale and Greenville, Mississippi, before her first novel, Sweet and Deadly, was published in 1980. The novel concerns the efforts of a journalist to solve the mystery of the murder of her parents in a small southern town. She followed that novel with A Secret Rage in 1984. With Real Murders in 1990 and A Bone to Pick in 1992, Harris initiated a successful series of mysteries featuring Aurora Teagarden, a librarian and amateur detective who returns to her home town in Georgia. She would be featured in a number of later novels, including Three Bedrooms, One Corpse (1994), The Julius House (1995), Dead over Heels (1996), A Fool and His Honey (1999), and most recently, Last Scene Alive (2002).

In 1996, Harris began a new mystery series, this time set in Shakespeare, Arkansas, and featuring Lily Baird, a cleaning lady with a first-rate education but physically and emotional scarred by a savage attack years earlier. In the first novel of this series, Shakespeare’s Landlord, Lily witnesses the disposal of a dead body. By careful questioning of her clients, Lily begins to piece together the answer to the mystery, but she is also being stalked by someone wishing to do her harm.

Lily Baird continued to solve mysteries in subsequent books in the series: Shakespeare’s Champion (1997), Shakespeare’s Christmas (1998), and Shakespeare’s Trollop (2000). The plots of her mysteries are generally well reviewed, but some critics have took special note of the unique character of Lily Baird, who one reviewer called “one of the best-drawn and most compelling characters in contemporary mystery fiction—complex, smart, streetwise, tough.”

In 2001, Harris began yet another series, this time delving into the supernatural with The Southern Vampires Series: Dead Until Dark (2001) and Living Dead in Dallas (2002).

(Article first posted April 2002)

Related Links & Info

This page from The Best Reviews features reviews of several recent works by Harris.


Fiction — Novels:

  • Sweet and Deadly. Boston: Houghton, 1980.
  • A Secret Rage. Boston: Houghton, 1984.

Fiction — Aurora Teagarden Mysteries:

  • Real Murders. New York: Walker, 1990.
  • A Bone to Pick. New York: Walker, 1992.
  • Three Bedrooms, One Corpse. New York: Scribner, 1994.
  • The Julius House. New York: Scribner, 1995.
  • Dead over Heels. New York: Scribner, 1996.
  • A Fool and His Honey. New York: St. Martin’s, 1999.
  • Last Scene Alive. New York: St. Martin’s, 2002.

Fiction — Lily Baird Mysteries:

  • Shakespeare’s Landlord. New York: St. Martin’s, 1996.
  • Shakespeare’s Champion. New York: St. Martin’s, 1997.
  • Shakespeare’s Christmas. New York: St. Martin’s, 1998.
  • Shakespeare’s Trollop. New York: St. Martin’s, 2000.
  • Shakespeare’s Counselor. Minotaur, 2001.

Fiction — The Southern Vampires Series:

  • Dead Until Dark. New York: Penguin/Ace, 2001
  • Living Dead in Dallas. New York: Penguin/Ace, 2002.
  • Club Dead. New York: Penguin/Ace, 2003.


Articles and Interviews:

Internet Resources

About the Author:

*Add Information to this page

Mississippi Writers Page Links
About This Site |
New Book Info | News & Events | Literary Landmarks | Mississippi Literary History | Mississippi Publishing | Other Features | Other Web Resources

by author | by title | by place | by year | by genre


Ole Miss Links
UM Home Page | English Department | Center for the Study of Southern Culture | The University of Mississippi Foundation

This page has been accessed 5216 times. About this page counter.

Last Revised on Monday, November 9, 2015, at 04:35:10 PM CST .
Send comments to mwp@olemiss.edu

Web Design by John B. Padgett.
Copyright © 2015 The University of Mississippi English Department.