Go to
* Publications
* Bibliography
* Internet Resources

Home:  >Browse Listings   >Authors   >Deal, Borden

Borden Deal

Borden Deal was born October 12, 1922, in Pontotoc, Mississippi. Deal was best known for his novels set in the American South, including Dunbar's Cove, a novel about the Tennessee Valley Authority, and The Insolent Breed, which concerns hillbilly music. He also wrote “The New South Saga” — comprised of The Loser (1964), The Advocate (1967), and The Winner (1973) — and the “Olden Times” series. In addition, Deal wrote novels under the pseudonyms Lee Borden and Leigh Borden, and he published erotica under the pseudonyms Her, Him, and Us. Deal’s short stories appeared in periodicals such as Saturday Review and are featured in several anthologies.

As a Mississippi native and son of a farming family, Deal returned again and again in his fiction to places and people that he knew. The farming ventures from his youth became the basis for communities written about in The Least One and ...The Other Room, and the quest for land, identity, and personal ambition figure strongly in much of his work.

He died of a heart attack on January 22, 1985, in Sarasota, Florida.


  • Walk through the Valley. New York: Scribner, 1956.
  • Dunbar's Cove. New York: Scribner, 1957.
  • Search for Surrender. Greenwich, CT: Fawcett/Gold Medal, 1957.
  • Killer in the House. New York: New American Library, 1957.
  • (Under pseudonym Lee Borden) The Secret of Sylvia. Greenwich, CT: Fawcett/Gold Medal, 1958.
  • The Insolent Breed. New York: Scribner, 1959.
  • Dragon's Wine. New York: Scribner, 1960.
  • (Under pseudonym Lee Borden) Devil's Whispers. New York: Avon, 1961.
  • The Spangled Road. New York: Scribner, 1962.
  • The Loser. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1964.
  • The Tobacco Men (based on notes by Theodore Dreiser). New York: Holt, 1965.
  • A Long Way to Go. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1965.
  • The Least One. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1967.
  • The Advocate. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1968.
  • Interstate. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1970.
  • A Neo-Socratic Dialogue on the Reluctant Empire. Baldwyn, MS: Outlaw Press, 1971.
  • The Winner. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1973.
  • ... The Other Room. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1974
  • Bluegrass. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1976.
  • (Under pseudonym Leigh Borden) Legend of the Bluegrass. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1977.
  • Adventure. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1978.
  • “Antaeus.” 1982.
  • There Were also Strangers: A Novel. Far Hills, N.J.: New Horizon Press, 1985.

*Add Information to this page

Mississippi Writers Page Links
About This Site |
New Book Info | News & Events | Literary Landmarks | Mississippi Literary History | Mississippi Publishing | Other Features | Other Web Resources

by author | by title | by place | by year | by genre


Ole Miss Links
UM Home Page | English Department | Center for the Study of Southern Culture | The University of Mississippi Foundation

This page has been accessed 6856 times. About this page counter.

Last Revised on Monday, November 9, 2015, at 04:35:03 PM CST.
Send comments to mwp@olemiss.edu

Web Design by John B. Padgett.
Copyright © 2015 The University of Mississippi English Department.